Posted in Culinary adventures, Homesteading

Fry bread ambrosia

Holy fry bread, y’all. I don’t know what tribe is responsible for this delectable treat but they are wonderful people and fry bread is insanely good. Imagine a savory dense cake donut. Yeah. Now you feel me.

So, last weekend I was fortunate to attend the Wild Rice Festival at the Harriet Alexander Nature Center in Roseville. Half Price Books donates to this awesome park and animal restoration center, so we get a booth at this event. I was dressed as the Bookworm mascot and got to hug and high five children all afternoon.

But while I wasn’t swallowed by the neon green sleeping bag that is my employer’s mascot, I was eating Native American food. The Wild Rice Festival boasts authentic fare that blows my mind with its savory comforty awesomeness. I had a roasted ear of corn on the cob that was probably the best corn experience of my LIFE. I dunno what seasoning they put on it but MAN, it was goooooooood.

I really love supporting the native groups that are still harvesting wild rice by hand in the traditional manner. So, this year I bought a pound of wild rice, some cream of wild rice soup mix and a fry bread mix. And tonight, we feasted on fry bread, rice soup and chicken made with vegetables that were farmed in the American soil hundreds of years before Europeans settled here.

I’m full and happy. (Who wouldn’t be after eating DONUTS for dinner?) But seriously, it’s super fun to try new ethnic foods. And while I barely scratched the surface here with Native American, I am delighted with what we’ve tried so far!

Go eat adventurously!

 

One thought on “Fry bread ambrosia

Leave a Reply

