Posted in Media Mondays

Deep lyrics: Even unto death

It’s time for another “media Monday” post.

Today, I want to highlight an artist I’ve been obsessed with for about a year. I was first introduced to her at my house church when a friend brought one of her songs to share with all of us. Her name is Audrey Assad. And man, she writes some gorgeous things.

Last Fall, I got the rare treat of seeing her in person at an old church where she humbly led a worship sing-along to things she had written. At the time, I was feeling spiritually numb and the one hour of sitting in an echo-filled sanctuary with 100 voices singing her beautiful lyrics to God gave me goosebumps. I felt revived. I promptly went home and ordered her album that released earlier this year.

Sometimes I need a new song to sing, and when it comes from a woman who lets the lyrics speak louder than everything else she’s recorded, it hits me hard and the impact ripples for a while. The song I want to share is what she wrote after watching those 22 Egyptian Christians be martyred. She doesn’t hold back. She imagined herself on that beach, with the executor behind her head and hoped that she would pray these words:

“Jesus, the very thought of You, it fills my heart with love. Jesus, You burn like wildfire, and I am overcome. Lover of my soul, even unto death. With my every breath, I will love You…”

Listen

This song burned in me, and I realized that I wanted to sing it and mean it. I want to be so in love with Jesus that a man standing behind me ready to take my life does not impact my love for Him, does not impact me telling Him I love Him, aloud…in front of the person ready to take my life. I want that kind of faith, that kind of trust, that kind of real love for Him.

Leave a Reply

