Posted in Homesteading

Autumn: the season of furries

Fall is in the air here in Minnesota. We have highs in the 40s and 50s, and the trees are undressing in style. I’ve been brewing lots of tea and making endless pots of popcorn. Ahh, autumn. My favorite season.

And in my neighborhood, autumn is the season of stray cats. As the weather gets chilly, they start hiding nearer to humans’ warm houses. And last week, a stray black kitten decided our back deck was the perfect place. (“my back deck brings all the cats to the yard…”) Kitty greeted us with rumbly purrs, leg rubs and even tried to come inside! Unsure of kitty’s gender, I called all the no-kill shelters I could to try and find a home for it, but it’s the season of strays and everyone seems full o’ cats. So, begrudgingly and after more than one sob session, I took the little purry to Minneapolis Animal Control, confident that they could find it a home. Upon arriving home, its littermate showed up! So, like I ended up taking TWO cats to the shelter on the same day. (It was a rough day.)

Following kitteh’s progress online, we discovered that they were both boys. Much to my surprise, Nayt agreed to let us keep one!!! So…drumroll please…

Meet Rudi!

img_6835-2
Oh hai, I is Rudi. Me purr ‘n’ rub face on yous.

Rudi is a 10 month old sweetheart of a stray who purrs while he eats. 🙂 He is quarantined to the craft room while he gets over some kitty sniffles and because Toby is a grump and we need to take introductions slowly. It’s been 5 years since we’ve had a kitten, and I forgot:

  1. how sharp their little needle claws are! YOW!
  2. how tiny they are! Toby has never looked fatter!
  3. how much ENERGY they have!

Kitten is doing well, and after my vet met him, she decided she wants to adopt his littermate. 🙂 That’s right, this cat is awesome enough to sway the heart of a lady who’s job is squeezing cats all day. 🙂

I know you all want the juicy gossip on how Toby is reacting to the intrusion in his home. So far, he is distracted with food and tolerating the dissolvement of his “only cat” status as well as can be expected. I honestly don’t think he’s as mad at the smell of new cat as he is mad that we periodically go in the craft room, shut the door and leave Toby out. Also probably doesn’t help that we then emerge smelling like traitors. 🙂 We’re giving it time at the recommendation of all the kitty sages.

Do you live in Minnesota? There are tons of sweet cats at the MACC that you could take home! Check it out! Also, HIGHLY recommend Feline Rescue, who helped me get Rudi since he was sick and therefore “unadoptable”. (I beg to differ! We wants him!) They are a no-kill shelter that fosters cats until they can be adopted. If you don’t have the ability to make a long term kitty commitment but want to save the furries from the shelters locally that euthanize, consider partnering with them!

Now, how about some more kitten pics!? *kitten is wiggly and moves a lot, I still don’t have a great shot of him, but these will suffice!

img_6830-2
I is tiny ‘n’ real cute.
img_6825-1
I bump the hooman’s face wiz my face.
img_6840-1
If I fits, I sits!
img_6838-1
Warm hooman! Me likes!
img_6839-2
Lookit how pretty I is!
One thought on “Autumn: the season of furries

Leave a Reply

