Posted in Media Mondays

Aurora

Nayt & I have very different preferences for music, so it isn’t often he suggests an artist that ends up on my playlists. But slowly, I am learning that my rockstar of a husband likes strong female vocals. After a couple Paramore concerts and countless “ooh, listen to this!” sessions with Canadian and European bands I’ve never heard of, I should just accept that Nayt will introduce me to way cooler sounds for the rest of forever.

Last Saturday, Nayt took me to see Aurora perform at the Cedar Cultural Center in Minneapolis. She’s a Norwegian artist and has a bell-like voice and some crazy cool background vocals in her songs. Seeing her in concert is like watching Alice in Wonderland sing about deep stuff.

So, on this Media Monday, check out my favorite Aurora song: Warrior

the lyrics:

I fall asleep in my own tears
I cry for the the world, for everyone
And I built a boat to float in
I’m floating away

I can’t recall last time I opened my eyes to see the world as beautiful
And I built a cage to hide in
I’m hiding, I’m trying to battle the night…

Let love conquer your mind
Warrior, warrior
Just reach out for the light
Warrior, warrior
I am a-yeah-yeah-yeah-yeah
Warrior, warrior
I am a-yeah-yeah-yeah-yeah
Warrior, warrior of love…

I stand behind the wall of people and thoughts, mind controlling
And I hold a sword to guide me
I’m fighting my way…

I can’t recall last time I opened my eyes to see the world as beautiful
And I built a cage to hide in
I’m hiding, I’m trying to battle the night…

Let love conquer your mind
Warrior, warrior
Just reach out for the light
Warrior, warrior
I am a-yeah-yeah-yeah-yeah
Warrior, warrior
I am a-yeah-yeah-yeah-yeah
Warrior, warrior of love!

Underneath darkened sky
There’s a light kept alive

Let love conquer your mind
Warrior, warrior
Just reach out for the light
Warrior, warrior
I am a-yeah-yeah-yeah-yeah
Warrior, warrior
I am a-yeah-yeah-yeah-yeah
Warrior, warrior of love…
Warrior of love!
Warrior of love!

One thought on “Aurora

  1. Pure voice. I have trouble understanding her words. Pretty sure her hand motions are a little distracting so maybe if I just listen to her, I would enjoy the sounds better than the visual. Thanks for shari g though. Nice to hear a different fresh song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

