Posted in Media Mondays

A Chanticleer Christmas

Dudes, run out to your local cd emporium and grab you a copy of A Chanticleer Christmas. I snagged my used copy at Half Price Books and have been absorbing the gentle waves of a cappella goodness ever since. Their version of Vom Himmel Hoch alone is worth buying the entire cd.

As I sat embroidering secret Christmas projects, I found my skin prickled with goosebumps. Something about choral music can do that, and Chanticleer gets their voices so pure it can sounds like one person is singing sometimes instead of the 12 men. I actually said aloud to my cats as the song finished, “wow, that was beautiful.”

Unfortunately, there are no stinkin’ videos on YouTube of their rendition of Vom Himmel Hoch, or of the album in its entirety. So, I’ll just leave you with this teaser of quiet peace and eeriely fantastic vocals from a different album of theirs…

Enjoy!

Hauntingly good version of “In the Bleak Midwinter”

Leave a Reply

