Posted in Media Mondays

Ghost singer

So, I have been revisiting some of my favorite musical soundtracks over the past few days as I take the metro transit to work. And I stumbled again upon the beautiful King and I music. Remembering Deborah Kerr wasn’t much of a well-known singer, I was curious who this “Marni Nixon” is that’s credited on the soundtrack. Watch THIS!

Marni Nixon was the voice of EVERYONE

I am seriously shocked by the breadth of this woman’s vocal career! She has been the singing voice of so many versatile roles I have loved in musicals! How sad that it is so many years later that she is finally allowed to speak about her work! I mean, I understand MGM wanting everything hush-hush. I can understand actresses who don’t have the singing chops to want this kind of thing kept secret, but so sad for Marni.

Her voice is beautiful and very adaptable to so many different kinds of roles! What a wonderful talent she had. I am impressed and wanted to share it with all of you who watched all these musicals too. 🙂 Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

